Using waybills

Model railroading in all scales and gauges. HO talk welcome :)
David Collins
Youtube Railfan Guru

Using waybills

Unread post by David Collins »

On my layout, I have 3 locals that run, CSX L423, NS C49 and NS C22. I mainly run these trains by memory with what cars go where, but I want to give waybills a try. I've never used this system before so if anyone uses this system I'd love to hear your advice.
Ferris State University’s Train Guy

Youtube: Michigan Railfan Films

Flickr: David R. Collins

SC: daveeed1k

KVERBERK
Railroadfan...fan

Re: Using waybills

Unread post by KVERBERK »

I don't have any experience with waybills, but I have been experimenting with JMRI operations. I've been using it to build routes and trains for the layout. Then I let the program route the cars and build trains. It works pretty well but it took awhile to set everything up and get it running the way I would like. In fact it is still very much a work in progress but its been fun.
Up North TSBY/GLC Fan

GreatLakesRailfan
Railroadfan...fan

Re: Using waybills

Unread post by GreatLakesRailfan »

I'm not sure if this is what you're looking for or not, but...some of the guys like to operate with car cards and such on our traveling modular layout. I think the base of the system they use is a Micro-Mark product. BUT the Micro-Mark product is preprinted, so you either need really neat handwriting, or you need a work around.

One of the guys (not me) put together an excel file for typing the car information into the form. The file has to be printed at a reduced size, which can then be glued to form a 2-sided card that will fit into the MM car card pouch.

There is an Empty Car Bill and a (loaded) Freight Waybill on each side of the insert, so each car that has a Waybill can be spotted at, or picked up from, two different destinations on the layout. The pouch has information for the particular car printed on it.
IMG_20220502_221819982.jpg
IMG_20220502_221852402.jpg