Railfan clearing clogged drains

Posts that don't fit in the other train categories. Off Subject Chit Chat I tell you. :)
~Z~
Sofa King Admin

Railfan clearing clogged drains

Unread post by ~Z~ »

So a few videos about clearing clogged storm water drains showed up on my feed. Pulled up one, appears to be a railfan out east as he's wearing a CSX safety vest. Checked his channel, and sure enough, a few railfan videos. Funny to see the train videos not getting much attention, but tons of views of him clearing drains:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1-zEvy3BaUw
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com

Saturnalia
Authority on Cat

Re: Railfan clearing clogged drains

Unread post by Saturnalia »

More recent video shows that culvert collapsing. I mean I'm not an expert, but I wonder if his unclogging from before had anything to do with it, causing premature erosion of the walls from all that flow.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IAycBJ8RB4c

I mean he probably didn't create the problem, but I doubt his "fix" helped anything. Leave this stuff to the experts, folk!
Thornapple River Rail Series - YouTube
Safety today is your investment for tomorrow

Trainman2223
Railroadfan...fan

Unread post by Trainman2223 »

"I wonder if his unclogging from before had anything to do with it, causing premature erosion of the walls from all that flow."

Most culverts are steel.. newer ones are ABS or some other form of plastic.. erosion of the walls, not likely unless it's not maintained for decades..

It is a drain....if unclogging it makes it fail.... :shock: tax money at work.....

DOT not maintaining the Drain/Culvert is the cause of the culvert collapsing....just like the roads,bridges and other vital infrastructure