Run Through Power for AA/GLC

Anything pertaining to railfanning in Michigan.
cfriedri
Railroadfan...fan

Run Through Power for AA/GLC

Unread post by cfriedri »

Was informed this evening that there would be some interesting action happening on the Ann Arbor Railroad tonight and being that it's my first time back to Michigan in a while, I decided to head out to look for a supposed grain extra. Turns out that there were two NS six-axle units on the head end of an empty unit grain train headed north to be filled at points on the GLC. NS 9584 and 1031 were the power. The train had a crew change to a GLC crew at Osmer around 01:30. Wouldn't this be the first time the northern end (meaning north of Milan) of the Ann Arbor Railroad has had six-axle units since the 1980s? Last time would have been on the PC coal trains if I'm not mistaken.
Connor

SD80MAC
Ingersoll's Mr. Michigan

Re: Run Through Power for AA/GLC

Unread post by SD80MAC »

Supposedly the power is supposed to stay with the train all the way to the MMRR.
"Remember, 4 mph is a couple, 5's a collision!"
http://flickriver.com/photos/conrail680 ... teresting/

AARR
Ann Arbor RR Nerd

Unread post by AARR »

I believe most of the coal trains were powered by four axle units. Usually four or five of them. BL-2 will know, he tracked every coal train on AA.

IIRC in the 80's or 90's the Owosso shops repaired a SD40-2 and took it for a test afterwards. It did some damage to the tracks. But these newer six-axle units have wheels that rotate with the tracks so perhaps they won't be as hard on the rails.
cfriedri wrote:Wouldn't this be the first time the northern end (meaning north of Milan) of the Ann Arbor Railroad has had six-axle units since the 1980s? Last time would have been on the PC coal trains if I'm not mistaken.