CN Diamond Charge

Anything pertaining to railfanning in Michigan.
Super Chief
Railroadfan...fan

CN Diamond Charge

Unread post by Super Chief »

As I was making my way back from PM 1225 and Owosso I stopped in Durand at the depot to see the Model T car show they were having there. Saw the HO layout operate and was talking to some folks. They claim for any steam engine to cross the diamond there the charge from CN is going to be $10,000 per axle? Anybody else know or can confirm it?

M.D.Bentley
Railroadfan...fan

Re: CN Diamond Charge

Unread post by M.D.Bentley »

Sounds like someone is blowing smoke up some where. :lol:

Norm
Railroadfan...fan

Unread post by Norm »

I have no knowledge of a charge but the ramps on the low-speed route may be incapable of supporting the weight of a steam engine. It it were crossing the diamond on the Flint Sub, I don't see a problem.
Norm

Super Chief
Railroadfan...fan

Guess you could wye to the Flint Sub. cross over and back into Owosso? That at least would keep you off of it. I think1225 and tender are 400 tons combined but rolling across I don't know the impact rate? $10,000 per axle would pretty much keep 765 and others from coming up if true.

Saturnalia
Authority on Cat

Unread post by Saturnalia »

400 tons yes, but riding on 13 axles. The load is distributed. Heavy yes, but I don't think the diamonds would be like a bridge where total weight matters.

Prolly just foamer pot stirring.
Thornapple River Rail Series - YouTube
Safety today is your investment for tomorrow

Super Chief
Railroadfan...fan

Your probably right MQT the lady who runs the depot gift shop was the source. She came out with that after I told her we just took the 600 people to Cadillac for their car show. She was busy getting hers ready that day but the wind was blowing a storm in Sunday which didn't impact them. The SRI people will know if a charge like that is in place I'm sure.

trnwatcher
My name ain't Steven

Unread post by trnwatcher »