Page 1 of 1

Vickers Question

Unread postPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:32 pm
by hoborich
Does Norfolk Southern change crews at Vickers. When I watch the vickers Railcam some trains stop at the overpass. Then a vehicle drives up to the locos and stops a few minutes. Then it leaves, and a few minutes later the train leaves

Re: Vickers Question

Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:03 pm
by trainjunkie47
Yes they do change crews at Vickers. Quite a bit depends upon traffic, as trains do get backed up near the train station, where NS has its offices. Another reason for changing crews there is if the train is going to be laid up for any sort of time. That would be the best place in the Toledo area to stick a train anywhere on the Water Level Route that might not move for several hours. The other reason I can think of is bridge operations. If a freighter is inbound/outbound at the grain terminal, and the train is westbound, the crew can still get there by crossing the Maumee on either freeway.

Another Vickers Question

Unread postPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:47 pm
by hoborich
I have seen a couple CPs coming through Vickers. I thought CP came into the US at Detroit, and went down the Wabash to Butler, then west on the NS. Why would a CP be at Vickers?

Re: Another Vickers Question

Unread postPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:51 pm
by JoJames
hoborich wrote:I have seen a couple CPs coming through Vickers. I thought CP came into the US at Detroit, and went down the Wabash to Butler, then west on the NS. Why would a CP be at Vickers?


Run through power.