A new train fan from Asheville NC

News or chat about railroad info that pertains to the entire United States, another state, or country.
River Arts Fan
Railroadfan...fan
Location: Asheville, NC river arts district... directly across the street from the switching yard!

A new train fan from Asheville NC

Unread post by River Arts Fan »

I'm brand new to the world of train fan. I've always loved trains. It runs in my family... My mother's father worked on the railroad all his life, my mother loves trains, as does my brother. The three of bus could talk forever about Amtrak. (My mother only enthused about passenger trains, unlike me and my brother.)

My new apartment, in the River Arts District in Asheville NC, is across the street from a switching yard. At least I think it's called a switching yard. Anyway, it has reignited my love for trains and I want to know more about what is happening just outside my living room window. Now I want to know, is it really called a switching yard, or is that incorrect? Who owns it? What kind of locomotives are being used? What kind of freight is being transported? Is this a large switching yard, or a small one, comparatively speaking? Is Asheville a busy or important place for freight trains? (Alas, we have no passenger trains.) I'm just spilling over with questions. I'm hoping you guys can point me in the direction of finding these answers.

florida581
Railroadfan...fan

Re: A new train fan from Asheville NC

Unread post by florida581 »