Cropping question

Questions on editing, camera settings, equipment, critiques, how to upload photos, etc....
pica
Railroadfan...fan
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Mich.

Cropping question

Unread post by pica »

Hi Guys, photos submitted to railpictures.net have to be so many pixels high by so many pixels wide. So my problem is when I start cropping to meet the requirements I lose a lot of the original image on the sides or top. Is there a way to meet their pixel requirement but keep the whole image. My pictures are coming out like 3024 pixels by 2000 pixels so I have to do a lot of cropping. By the time the picture is down to their pixel size the picture looks like crap.

User avatar
Norm
Railroadfan...fan
Posts: 1845
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Waterford, MI

Re: Cropping question

Unread post by Norm »

I use "Photorazor" to re-size my pictures. It's a free download online.Don't know if it changes the pixel count but it does a nice job.
Norm

User avatar
Ypsi
The Bestest Railroadfan... fan
Posts: 5308
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: Cropping question

Unread post by Ypsi »

If you are using Microsoft, paint can even do that, I normally use windows picture manager to resize. Don't crop too much might get rejected for "bad croping" :lol:
"Ann Arbor 2373 Calling... Milkshake. Over"

All Aboard Amtrak: Northbound, Southbound, and My Hometown

pica
Railroadfan...fan
Posts: 238
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Mich.

Re: Cropping question

Unread post by pica »

I use IPhoto on a Mac.

User avatar
~Z~
Sofa King Admin
Posts: 10941
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Contact:

Re: Cropping question

Unread post by ~Z~ »

If you are on a Mac and want something good that's free, try Gimp: http://download.cnet.com/GIMP/3000-2192_4-10322178.html

Lots of photo editing software will let you resize photos, not just crop them.
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com

User avatar
A No.1
To Portland
Posts: 2652
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:34 pm
Location: Battle Creek

Re: Cropping question

Unread post by A No.1 »

PhotoShop works for me. My photos out of the camera are like 4000 some wide. I change the width to 1024 and shoot for a height of some place between 683 and 710. You can crop your Original photo some what to get a better looking image or to hit the proper pixel height when you change the width to 1024.
GT HOG

Es sind 80 meilen nach chicago, mein tank ist halb voll sprit, ein six pack , es ist dunkel und ich hab meine sonnenbrille auf , LOS GEHTS!!

MY STUFF http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=38143

GreatLakesRailfan
Railroadfan...fan
Posts: 4718
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:28 am
Location: Marysville, Michigan

Re: Cropping question

Unread post by GreatLakesRailfan »

I do something like what Aaron does. I shoot photos that are way bigger than they need to be, so that when cropping I don't lose too much of the good stuff. I use an old version of Photoshop, which allows me to crop down to a rough version of what I want (as far as framing the part of the image I want to keep), then I use the resizing options to bring the image down to the final expected dimensions. For example, once the image is cropped, I use image size to reduce the image to the desired width or height (which ever is smaller- I can always trim the image, but I can't add to it once I take something off), then use canvas size to crop the other dimension down to the required size. I like to do all of my rotating and other edits before changing the size, then I sharpen, adjust the colors and watermark once I've resized the image. I add a copyright watermark (pointless though it may be) to my images partly because I do not upload to railpictures.net, which automatically adds a watermark to uploads.

Windows has had photo editing options in their software for a while now, but I get better results using Photoshop than I did using the Windows tools. Especially in the area of cropping and resizing.

Post Reply