Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Locomotive identification, railfan locations, frequency information, etc. can be found here.

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby MP73point4 » Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:31 pm

CSX_CO wrote:
MQT3001 wrote:
~Z~ wrote:Strange, when i was trying to connect a 2nd stream, said we were at max listeners.. had it set at 8 streams. Upped it to 12, rebooted server, and now i can connect 2 at once.. give it a whirl mqt3001, and when it works, disconnect and go back to listening to your teachers while at school.

Sweet...it works now! Thanks Zack!

No school today or tomorrow...two days off for Professional Development today and Election Day tomorrow.

Now I've gotta listen for the Railgrinder!


Election day is a school Holiday now? Good lord, no wonder out education system in this country sucks. It isn't that its underfunded, it is because they seemingly are never in school...

Schools around here just had a week off last week for "Fall Break". Next Month Thanksgiving Break, then Christmas Break. No wonder the work ethic of people in their 20's sucks, they've never been required to work any length of time without feeling like they are entitled to a 'break'.

Practice Safe CSX

Many schools have Election Day off not because they need a school holiday, but because the school buildings are in use as polling places. That's the way it is here in Lansing.
RR Pass Collector
User avatar
MP73point4
Railroadfan...fan
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:24 pm
Location: Billtown, MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby MQT1223 » Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:55 pm

Are links available for MQT, GDLK and GRE channel feed?
1223 OUT! President and Founder of the Buck Creek Central, the Rolling River Route! (2012-2017) President and Founder of the Lamberton Valley Railroad, The Tin Plate Road! Proudly railfanning with Asperger's since 1996. :)
User avatar
MQT1223
O Scale Railfanner
 
Posts: 2670
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Grandville, Michigan

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby Saturnalia » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:43 pm

MQT1223 wrote:Are links available for MQT, GDLK and GRE channel feed?

They're all included in the feed, assuming he has those channels turned on. His scanner is scanning all of those bands.

Channels being scanned:
160.230 - CSX road
160.320 - CSX dispatcher on the east side of Grand Rapids
160.635 - CSX dispatcher west of Grand Rapids
160.590 - CN Chan 2 dispatcher
160.530 - CN Chan 1 Road
160.440 - Marquette Rail road
160.335 - Grand Elk Road
161.535 - Grand Elk Yard
161.235 - Grand Rapids Eastern


However, a couple of these might be turned off now, static issues and interference. I know it is hard for Zack to pick up the GRE and MQT due to distance and geography anyways. CN is too far away.

CSX Road you can usually hear from at least DD19.1 (Zeeland Defect Detector) to Elmdale and up to Turner Street (and often farther...I've picked up trains at Fennville and Woodbury before). You can hear the Dispatcher's towers in Holland and Lako? as well, hence you might not be able to hear the trains, but you can hear the dispatcher.

When trains are working, and handsets are in use, they never get good range due to their very nature of not being designed to transmit over distance. This is a lot of why you won't pick up the GRE or MQT on the feed, if those channels are even on. This is why when you're actually railfanning you can hear the Amtrak conductors reply to the engineer calling signals if they're close to you, but more than a couple miles and on Zack's feed you can't hear those at all - because the conductors only have weak handsets while the locomotive has a powerful radio. Same goes for three-stepping on the feed...usually you can only hear the engineer's remarks.
Thornapple River Rail Series - YouTube
Dah Yooper Snowfall Total: 317"
User avatar
Saturnalia
Authority on Cat
 
Posts: 13617
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:54 pm
Location: Michigan's Copper Country

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby justin_gram » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:47 pm

You can hear the Dispatcher's towers in Holland and Lako?


Where are all the towers located along the Grand Rapids Sub?
User avatar
justin_gram
Authority on Rabbit
 
Posts: 4356
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: 91.9 DD

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby MQT1223 » Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:38 am

MQT3001 wrote:
MQT1223 wrote:Are links available for MQT, GDLK and GRE channel feed?

They're all included in the feed, assuming he has those channels turned on. His scanner is scanning all of those bands.

Channels being scanned:
160.230 - CSX road
160.320 - CSX dispatcher on the east side of Grand Rapids
160.635 - CSX dispatcher west of Grand Rapids
160.590 - CN Chan 2 dispatcher
160.530 - CN Chan 1 Road
160.440 - Marquette Rail road
160.335 - Grand Elk Road
161.535 - Grand Elk Yard
161.235 - Grand Rapids Eastern


However, a couple of these might be turned off now, static issues and interference. I know it is hard for Zack to pick up the GRE and MQT due to distance and geography anyways. CN is too far away.

CSX Road you can usually hear from at least DD19.1 (Zeeland Defect Detector) to Elmdale and up to Turner Street (and often farther...I've picked up trains at Fennville and Woodbury before). You can hear the Dispatcher's towers in Holland and Lako? as well, hence you might not be able to hear the trains, but you can hear the dispatcher.

When trains are working, and handsets are in use, they never get good range due to their very nature of not being designed to transmit over distance. This is a lot of why you won't pick up the GRE or MQT on the feed, if those channels are even on. This is why when you're actually railfanning you can hear the Amtrak conductors reply to the engineer calling signals if they're close to you, but more than a couple miles and on Zack's feed you can't hear those at all - because the conductors only have weak handsets while the locomotive has a powerful radio. Same goes for three-stepping on the feed...usually you can only hear the engineer's remarks.


So the most likely way you are gonna hear the GRE or MQT is with a portable scanner tuned in to that specific channel?
1223 OUT! President and Founder of the Buck Creek Central, the Rolling River Route! (2012-2017) President and Founder of the Lamberton Valley Railroad, The Tin Plate Road! Proudly railfanning with Asperger's since 1996. :)
User avatar
MQT1223
O Scale Railfanner
 
Posts: 2670
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Grandville, Michigan

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby Saturnalia » Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:25 am

Yes and yes. Howeve, I generally scan all of railroad band at once, so I can hear everything near me all the time.
Thornapple River Rail Series - YouTube
Dah Yooper Snowfall Total: 317"
User avatar
Saturnalia
Authority on Cat
 
Posts: 13617
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:54 pm
Location: Michigan's Copper Country

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby amtrak1007 » Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:23 am

MQT3001 wrote:Yes and yes. Howeve, I generally scan all of railroad band at once, so I can hear everything near me all the time.


That's one way to do it. However in a busy area or if you have a specific interest, the full band scan isn't going to be your friend. I have the same Yeasu 1900r in my truck, and I have different scan banks depending on where I am to ensure I only hear the traffic that I want to. No point in hearing the CSX line a few miles away when i'm foaming just the NS at chesterton for example.
User avatar
amtrak1007
MP 25 Productions Co-Founder
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:55 am
Location: Fisher FB97

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby Saturnalia » Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:14 am

amtrak1007 wrote:
MQT3001 wrote:Yes and yes. Howeve, I generally scan all of railroad band at once, so I can hear everything near me all the time.


That's one way to do it. However in a busy area or if you have a specific interest, the full band scan isn't going to be your friend. I have the same Yeasu 1900r in my truck, and I have different scan banks depending on where I am to ensure I only hear the traffic that I want to. No point in hearing the CSX line a few miles away when i'm foaming just the NS at chesterton for example.

True, but I think given the context a full band scan is the way to go for Max.

Even when I go to Porter, I just lock-out channels as needed if they get annoying...can't lock out 14 because that is the Porter Branch, IIRC, or 08 because that's road for the GRS.
Thornapple River Rail Series - YouTube
Dah Yooper Snowfall Total: 317"
User avatar
Saturnalia
Authority on Cat
 
Posts: 13617
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:54 pm
Location: Michigan's Copper Country

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby trnwatcher » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:09 am

justin_gram wrote:
You can hear the Dispatcher's towers in Holland and Lako?


Where are all the towers located along the Grand Rapids Sub?

You should be able to find this info on the FCC website. They have actual copies of the FCC licenses issued to the railroads and they give you the exact geographic coordinates of there the towers are located. I have a really old copy (from the 80's) and I know some of these towers have been moved or removed all together.
User avatar
trnwatcher
My name ain't Steven
 
Posts: 4429
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:22 pm
Location: Grandville MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby amtrak1007 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:56 pm

scanner down?
User avatar
amtrak1007
MP 25 Productions Co-Founder
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:55 am
Location: Fisher FB97

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby ~Z~ » Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:37 pm

amtrak1007 wrote:scanner down?


Was for a few minutes yes, server wasn't doing well, had to reboot, back up about noon. I'm also working on migrating it to a new server. Having some issues configuring icecast/oddcast/winamp plugin, but working on it.
Old box was pentium4, XP. new is dual core, Win 7.
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com
User avatar
~Z~
Sofa King Admin
 
Posts: 10502
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby amtrak1007 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:40 pm

~Z~ wrote:Was for a few minutes yes, server wasn't doing well, had to reboot, back up about noon. I'm also working on migrating it to a new server. Having some issues configuring icecast/oddcast/winamp plugin, but working on it.
Old box was pentium4, XP. new is dual core, Win 7.


Thanks Zackmaster. Remind me at the next dinner I owe you some money for the things you do.
User avatar
amtrak1007
MP 25 Productions Co-Founder
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:55 am
Location: Fisher FB97

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby ~Z~ » Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:32 pm

Feed is on a new server at home. Also moved hosting from having it broadcast from here, to have it changed to shoot the feed over to broadcastify.com and you can listen in from there. http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/19206
Updated the details on the first post about it. Let me know if anyone has issues connecting to the new feed.
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com
User avatar
~Z~
Sofa King Admin
 
Posts: 10502
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby trnwatcher » Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:21 pm

Just did a little test when updating my links in Winamp on on my phone in Scanner Radio. The mobile feed is about 20-30 behind the web feed via my Comcast connection. Sound is good. The little "repeating noise" I've heard on the mobile feed does seem to still be there with Broadcastify. Must be something to due with the mobile connection.
User avatar
trnwatcher
My name ain't Steven
 
Posts: 4429
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 6:22 pm
Location: Grandville MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby ~Z~ » Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 pm

Bit of downtime tonight; replacing router this evening.
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com
User avatar
~Z~
Sofa King Admin
 
Posts: 10502
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby ~Z~ » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:12 am

Have had various issues with a lot of static on the line lately, and hope to get that resolved. Tested it in various aspects the last few days and the static issue seems to follow me when i use the same scanner and power transformer... moved the scanner and power upstairs, hooked up a different coax and different antenna, away from the router/PC/ext hard drive/cabling and issue continued. Plugged in my car's scanner into the main antenna, no static issues.
Turned up the squelch more and so far, but not sure if that'll resolve it. Monitoring it today to see if range has been impacted at all. Turned back on 160.320. If you hear a lot of static, let me know.. and if listening in, let me know what kind of range you are hearing. At least hearing MOW at Grandville and dispatcher fine so far this morning.
Lots of static still I'm hearing..different from yesterday, but annoying. Think I'll try to hook up the radio to my car's 12V battery and see if the static is still produced. Going to do a factory reset to the radio as well. Dargh....

afternoon edit: No static in the past hour, but had lots this morning. Just got the dispatcher talking to MOW at Wells, so getting a good range still.
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com
User avatar
~Z~
Sofa King Admin
 
Posts: 10502
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby ~Z~ » Thu Oct 27, 2016 3:18 pm

FYI, scanner is offline. PC had to be replaced. Plan is to move the scanner over to a new location and to amtrak1007's awesome antenna. Will update when we've made some progress to get the scanner online at the new location.
Webmaster
Railroad photos on Railroadfan.com
User avatar
~Z~
Sofa King Admin
 
Posts: 10502
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Grand Rapids, MI

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby amtrak1007 » Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:19 pm

Zack's equipment is now mounted at the antenna site and streamed here <http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/24338>.

Channels currently scanned
1515 - 160.335 - Grand Elk
2222 - 160.440 - Maquette Rail
7575 - 161.235 - Grand Rapids Eastern
9595 - 161.550 - Grand Elk
User avatar
amtrak1007
MP 25 Productions Co-Founder
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:55 am
Location: Fisher FB97

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby 1TrackMind » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:51 pm

Is this no longer working?
1TrackMind
Railroadfan...fan
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 5:47 pm

Re: Grand Rapids MI railroad scanner

Unread postby amtrak1007 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 11:39 pm

discussion has moved to:

viewtopic.php?f=15&t=33614

All three feeds are online as of 4 minutes ago.
User avatar
amtrak1007
MP 25 Productions Co-Founder
 
Posts: 2951
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:55 am
Location: Fisher FB97

Previous

Return to Railfanning Information

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

x