Portable Scanner Q's

Locomotive identification, railfan locations, frequency information, etc. can be found here.
MQT1223
O Scale Railfanner

Portable Scanner Q's

Unread post by MQT1223 »

I was thinking about purchasing a portable scanner so I don't have to rely on my phone (and my data plan) for scanner feed, However, I do not know where to start when it comes to what you would want or watch out for in a scanner. I know you can purchase them at most electronic stores such as RadioShack, but I am no expert at this so I was hoping people that do use them that are on this board could maybe share some helpful info on scanners.

ConrailMan5
Better than Ypsi

Re: Portable Scanner Q's

Unread post by ConrailMan5 »

Uniden bearcat twin turbo (?) worked like a champ for me. Plentiful on the secondary market, so check eBay if you're looking to save money. Once the bearcat crapped out, Got the radio shack equivalent at an estate sale in a lot for $10 bucks. Runs off double A or DC 12V. Decent range, esoecially if attached to a whip.
"I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you different."
-Kurt Vonnegut

J T
Hates Supper

Unread post by J T »

I'd guess a good, affordable scanner for you would be the Uniden Bearcat BC95XLT. I've owned several over the years and they work just fine. The last one I purchased online was under $100, but it looks like you might pay just a little bit more than that.

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/ ... /4195.html

http://www.overstock.com/Electronics/Un ... oduct.html

Or check ebay...I'm sure they are cheaper there.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/jimthias/
GRHC - you know every night I can imagine he is in front of his computer screen sitting in his underwear swearing profusely and drinking Blatz beer combing the RailRoadFan website for grammatical errors.

cbehr91
Chairman of the Bored

Unread post by cbehr91 »